New Jersey Fishing License, Limits and Rules
Last verified:
By BCRods
Quick facts
- Saltwater
- No license; free registry for ages 16 and up
- Freshwater license
- $22.50 resident ages 16 to 64
- Trout stamp
- $10.50 resident, $20 non-resident
- Delaware River
- NJ or PA license valid on the main stem
Rules snapshot
New Jersey freshwater license fees
Fishing licenses and permits are valid from the date of purchase to December 31. Resident, ages 16 to 64: $22.50 (Buddy license $11.75). Resident senior, ages 65 to 69: $12.50; age 70 and over: free. Non-resident, age 16 and over: $34.00 (Buddy license $17.50); 2-day vacation $9.00; 7-day vacation $19.50. WMA boat ramp permit: $15. · eRegulations NJ: licenses, permits and fees (updated Mar 2, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
New Jersey trout stamp
Resident trout stamp, ages 16 to 69: $10.50. Non-resident trout stamp: $20.00. eRegulations lists the stamp with the fees but does not state the requirement in a sentence; the free fishing days page refers to fishing "without a license or trout stamp." · eRegulations NJ: licenses, permits and fees (updated Mar 2, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
New Jersey license age rule
The eRegulations fee table starts at age 16 and does not say in words that younger anglers are exempt. Check New Jersey Fish & Wildlife. eRegulations NJ: licenses, permits and fees (updated Mar 2, 2026)
New Jersey free fishing days
2026: June 6 and September 26, for New Jersey residents fishing public fresh water without a license or trout stamp. All other rules still apply. Both 2026 dates have passed and no 2027 dates are posted. · eRegulations NJ: free fishing days (updated Sep 23, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
New Jersey Saltwater Recreational Registry
There is no saltwater license. Anyone 16 and older must register, free and online only, before saltwater fishing recreationally in New Jersey. Registrations expire at the end of each calendar year. Anglers 18 and older need an ID and complete a child support certification form each year. New York has its own registry, and the NPS says both apply at Sandy Hook. · eRegulations NJ: saltwater registry (updated May 11, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Delaware River license rule (New Jersey and Pennsylvania)
New Jersey and Pennsylvania licenses are both recognized on the main stem of the Delaware River from a boat or either shore. You must follow the rules of the state whose side of the river you are fishing or holding fish on, with the border at the centerline. You may launch from either shore and possess fish legal in the state where you land. · eRegulations NJ: Delaware River (updated Mar 2, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Delaware license on the lower river and bay
A Delaware fishing license is required for anglers 16 and older fishing the Delaware Bay and Delaware River between the upstream tip of Artificial Island and the Delaware-Pennsylvania line, where Delaware water extends to the New Jersey shoreline. A Delaware license is not required when fishing from shore in New Jersey along that section. · eRegulations NJ: Delaware River (updated Mar 2, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Striped bass, marine waters
Slot 28 to 31 inches, 1 fish, everywhere. Atlantic Ocean 0 to 3 nautical miles: no closed season. Delaware River and tributaries from the Calhoun Street Bridge to the Salem River: March 1 to 31 and June 1 to December 31. Upstream of the Calhoun Street Bridge: March 1 to December 31. All other marine waters: March 1 to December 31. Federal waters (3 to 200 nautical miles): prohibited. Non-offset circle hooks are required with bait, and gaffing striped bass is illegal. · eRegulations NJ: saltwater size and possession limits (updated Oct 5, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Striped Bass Bonus Program
Anglers with a Bonus permit may keep one striped bass 24 to under 28 inches per permit, from May 15 to December 31. Permits are non-transferable and valid for the calendar year. Harvest reporting is mandatory and a fishing log must be submitted by January 15, 2027 to stay eligible for 2027. The 2026 allocation is 200,798 pounds. · eRegulations NJ: striped bass bonus program (updated Oct 5, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Summer flounder (fluke)
Season May 4 to September 25. Most New Jersey waters: 18 inches, 3 fish. Delaware Bay and tributaries west of the COLREGS line: 17 inches, 3 fish. Island Beach State Park shore fishing (from a pier, jetty, beach, bank or marsh): 16 inches, 2 fish. Check NOAA for federal-water rules. · eRegulations NJ: saltwater size and possession limits (updated Oct 5, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Black sea bass
12.5 inches. May 15 to June 21: 10 fish. June 22 to September 22: 1 fish. September 23 to October 31: 10 fish. November 1 to December 31: 15 fish. · eRegulations NJ: saltwater size and possession limits (updated Oct 5, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Tautog (blackfish)
15 inches. January 1 to February 28: 4 fish. April 1 to 30: 4 fish. August 1 to November 15: 1 fish. November 16 to December 31: 5 fish. These are the only windows listed in the eRegulations table; check the agency for any date not listed. · eRegulations NJ: saltwater size and possession limits (updated Oct 5, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Bluefish
No closed season and no minimum size. 5 fish per person; 7 fish per person on a qualifying party or charter vessel. · eRegulations NJ: saltwater size and possession limits (updated Oct 5, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Red drum
No closed season. 18 inches to less than 27 inches, 1 fish. · eRegulations NJ: saltwater size and possession limits (updated Oct 5, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Black drum
No closed season. 16 inches minimum, 3 fish. · eRegulations NJ: saltwater size and possession limits (updated Oct 5, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Weakfish
No closed season. 13 inches minimum, 1 fish. · eRegulations NJ: saltwater size and possession limits (updated Oct 5, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Scup
January 1 to June 30 and September 1 to December 31. 10 inches minimum, 30 fish. · eRegulations NJ: saltwater size and possession limits (updated Oct 5, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Largemouth and smallmouth bass, statewide
Catch and release only April 15 to June 15 in all waters. June 16 to December 31: 12 inches, 5 combined. The statewide table row for January 1 to April 14 had no text when we read it, so check eRegulations for that window. · eRegulations NJ: freshwater size, season and creel limits (updated Sep 23, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Smallmouth bass, statewide row
The eRegulations smallmouth row did not show separate statewide values when we read it. Check eRegulations. eRegulations NJ: freshwater size, season and creel limits (updated Sep 23, 2026)
Lunker Bass Lakes
Alloway, Assunpink, Parvin and Delaware lakes and Merrill Creek, Round Valley and Splitrock reservoirs: 15 inches, 3 bass combined. Round Valley and Merrill Creek were added for 2026. · eRegulations NJ: freshwater size, season and creel limits (updated Sep 23, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Muskellunge and tiger musky
Statewide: 40 inches, 1 fish combined. Trophy Muskie Waters (Echo Lake Reservoir, Greenwood Lake, Lake Hopatcong and Monksville Reservoir): 44 inch minimum; the daily limit for these waters did not show on the page text we read, so check eRegulations. Delaware River: 40 inches, 1 fish. · eRegulations NJ: freshwater size, season and creel limits (updated Sep 23, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Walleye
Catch and release only March 1 to April 30. May 1 to December 31: 18 inches, 3 fish. The January 1 to February 28 row had no text when we read it. Delaware River: open year-round, 18 inches, 3 fish. · eRegulations NJ: freshwater size, season and creel limits (updated Sep 23, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Northern pike and chain pickerel
Northern pike: 24 inches, 2 fish, with catch and release only March 20 to May 20 at Echo Lake Reservoir, Mercer Lake, Mountain Lake and Monksville Reservoir. Chain pickerel: 15 inches, 5 fish statewide; 12 inches, 5 fish on the Delaware River. · eRegulations NJ: freshwater size, season and creel limits (updated Sep 23, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
American shad, hickory shad and river herring
American shad: open year-round on the Delaware River only, no minimum size, 2 a day. Taking American shad anywhere else is prohibited. Hickory shad and river herring (alewife and blueback): closed. · eRegulations NJ: Delaware River (updated Mar 2, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Potentially dangerous fish
Possession or release of live potentially dangerous fish is prohibited, and anglers must destroy them if caught. The freshwater limits table names blue and flathead catfish. There is no limit on these fish. · eRegulations NJ: Delaware River (updated Mar 2, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Delaware River gear rules
No more than three rods with one line each, or two hand lines, or one of each; no more than three single or three treble hooks per line. In the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area, crayfish, clams, mussels, reptiles and amphibians may not be used as bait unless they are a commercially produced, packaged product. · eRegulations NJ: Delaware River (updated Mar 2, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
Circle hooks and gaffing for striped bass
Non-offset (inline) circle hooks are required when fishing for striped bass with bait. It is illegal to gaff or attempt to gaff a striped bass. · eRegulations NJ: saltwater size and possession limits (updated Oct 5, 2026), checked November 1, 2026
New Jersey fish consumption advisories
Advisories exist for some New Jersey waters. Check the Fish Smart, Eat Smart NJ map (FishSmartEatSmartNJ.org) before you eat what you catch. eRegulations NJ: health advisory (updated May 11, 2026)
This is not legal advice. Rules change, so confirm with the state agency before you fish.
New Jersey has a freshwater license, a free saltwater registry instead of a saltwater license and a separate trout stamp. It also shares the Delaware River with Pennsylvania, with its own shore-to-shore license rule. This guide explains which one you need, what the 2026 fees are, when you can fish free, and the saltwater and freshwater limits we verified from eRegulations. It is a summary of published rules, not legal advice, and every value carries the date we checked it. New Jersey Fish and Wildlife’s own digests and web pages were unreadable when we checked, so several details are marked as unconfirmed and shown as “check the agency.”
Which license or registration do you need?
- Freshwater: a New Jersey fishing license, valid from the date of purchase to December 31. The fee table starts at age 16.
- Trout: a trout stamp is listed with the fees for anglers 16 to 69. eRegulations does not state the requirement in a sentence, though its free fishing days page speaks of fishing “without a license or trout stamp,” so read the license page before you fish for trout.
- Saltwater: there is no saltwater license. Anyone 16 and older must register, free and online only, before saltwater fishing recreationally. Registrations expire at the end of each calendar year. Anglers 18 and older need an ID and complete a child support certification form each year.
- Sandy Hook: the National Park Service says both New York’s registry and New Jersey’s apply there. See the Sandy Hook guide.
- Delaware River: a license from either New Jersey or Pennsylvania is valid on the main stem. See the next sections.
We could not confirm whether anglers under 16 are exempt from the freshwater license, because the fee table says nothing about it. The National Park Service says children under 16 do not need a license at the Delaware Water Gap, but that is a park statement, so check the agency for the general rule.
Fees for 2026
The rules snapshot above lists the fees from the eRegulations fee table, updated March 2, 2026. A resident aged 16 to 64 pays $22.50, with a Buddy license at $11.75. Residents 65 to 69 pay $12.50 and residents 70 and over fish free. A non-resident aged 16 or over pays $34, with a Buddy license at $17.50, a two-day vacation license at $9 and a seven-day license at $19.50. The trout stamp is $10.50 for a resident and $20 for a non-resident. A wildlife management area boat ramp permit is $15.
Free fishing days
New Jersey’s 2026 free fishing days were June 6 and September 26, for residents on public fresh water, without a license or trout stamp. All other rules still apply. Both dates have passed and no 2027 dates were posted when we checked, so we publish none.
The Delaware River
The river is shared with Pennsylvania and, in its lower reaches, Delaware.
- Main stem: New Jersey and Pennsylvania licenses are both recognized from a boat or either shore. You follow the rules of the state whose side you fish or hold fish on, with the border at the centerline. You may launch from either shore and possess fish that are legal in the state where you land.
- Delaware Bay and lower river: a Delaware fishing license is required for anglers 16 and older between the upstream tip of Artificial Island and the Delaware-Pennsylvania line, except when fishing from the New Jersey shore.
See the Delaware River guide and the Delaware Bay shore guide. On the Delaware side, Delaware’s river guide covers the other license.
Saltwater limits we verified
All values below are from New Jersey’s saltwater table, updated October 5, 2026, and the rules snapshot has the full wording.
- Striped bass: one fish, 28 to 31 inches, with the season depending on the zone. See the striped bass guide. The Bonus Program lets permit holders keep one fish of 24 to under 28 inches from May 15 to December 31. Non-offset circle hooks are required with bait, and gaffing is illegal.
- Summer flounder: May 4 to September 25. Most waters 18 inches and 3 fish, Delaware Bay 17 inches and 3 fish, and Island Beach shore fishing 16 inches and 2 fish. See the fluke guide.
- Black sea bass: 12.5 inches, with a daily limit that changes by date: 10 fish from May 15 to June 21, 1 fish from June 22 to September 22 and 10 fish from September 23 to October 31.
- Tautog: 15 inches, with four windows listed. January 1 to February 28 and April 1 to 30 allow 4 fish. August 1 to November 15 allows 1 fish, and November 16 to December 31 allows 5. Only those windows are listed in the table, so we say nothing about other dates. See our surf guide for where they are fished.
- Bluefish: no closed season and no minimum, 5 fish per person, or 7 on a qualifying party or charter vessel.
- Black drum: 16 inches, 3 fish. Red drum: 18 to under 27 inches, 1 fish. Weakfish: 13 inches, 1 fish.
- Scup: 10 inches, 30 fish, in two windows: January 1 to June 30 and September 1 to December 31.
Freshwater limits we verified
- Black bass: catch and release only from April 15 to June 15, then 12 inches and five fish combined through December 31. We could not confirm a separate smallmouth limit, so check the agency. On the Delaware River the catch-and-release window is April 18 to June 12.
- Lunker Bass Lakes: 15 inches and three bass at Alloway, Assunpink, Parvin and Delaware lakes and Merrill Creek, Round Valley and Splitrock reservoirs.
- Muskie: 40 inches and one fish statewide, 44 inches in four Trophy Muskie Waters, including Lake Hopatcong.
- Walleye: catch and release March 1 to April 30, then 18 inches and three fish.
- Pike and pickerel: pike 24 inches and two fish, with catch and release at four waters from March 20 to May 20. Chain pickerel 15 inches and five fish, or 12 inches on the Delaware River.
- Trout: the 2026 stocking closure ran from March 23 until opening day at 8 a.m. on April 11. See the trout guide for the seasons, conservation areas and Big Flat Brook.
- Shad: American shad may be taken only on the Delaware River, two a day. Hickory shad and river herring are closed. See the shad guide.
Fish you must not release
Potentially dangerous fish, including blue and flathead catfish according to the freshwater table, may not be possessed or released alive. Anglers must destroy them. There is no limit. We did not re-read the snakehead rule, so we do not name it here.
Gear rules
On the Delaware River you may use no more than three rods with one line each, or two hand lines, or one of each, with no more than three single or three treble hooks per line. Within the Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area, crayfish, clams, mussels, reptiles and amphibians may not be used as bait unless they are commercially packaged. Circle-hook rules for striped bass are above.
Special areas
- Sandy Hook (Gateway): saltwater only, an after-hours permit for fishing from 9 p.m. to 6 a.m., no fishing within 150 feet of posted shorebird areas or on guarded beaches.
- Cape May refuge: Atlantic surf from October 1 to March 31, Cape May Inlet all year, during the half hours around daylight.
- Island Beach State Park: the vehicle permit rules for 2027 are unsettled and we publish no price.
What we could not confirm
The advisories on eating fish, the horseshoe crab rule and the state’s own digest were unreadable, so those items show “check the agency.” Consumption advisories are published by the state and apply to many New Jersey waters. Check them before you keep fish.
Where to fish
Start on the New Jersey fishing hub, or compare the surf beaches, trout waters and lakes.
More fishing guides for New Jersey
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a saltwater fishing license in New Jersey? +
No. Anglers 16 and older must register, free and online, each year.
Do I need a trout stamp? +
The fee table lists a stamp for ages 16 to 69. Read the license page before you fish for trout.
Sources
- eRegulations New Jersey: licenses, permits and fees (accessed November 2, 2026)
- eRegulations New Jersey: recreational surveys (saltwater registry) (accessed November 2, 2026)
- eRegulations New Jersey: Delaware River (accessed November 2, 2026)
- eRegulations New Jersey: saltwater size and possession limits (accessed November 2, 2026)
- eRegulations New Jersey: freshwater size, season and creel limits (accessed November 2, 2026)
- eRegulations New Jersey: trout fishing regulations (accessed November 2, 2026)
- eRegulations New Jersey: free fishing days (accessed November 2, 2026)
- eRegulations New Jersey: striped bass Bonus Program (accessed November 2, 2026)